نظرة عامة على اللاكتوفيرين

لاكتوفيرين (LF) هو بروتين طبيعي موجود في حليب الثدييات ويظهر خصائص مضادة للميكروبات. منذ نشأته في الستينيات ، كانت هناك العديد من الدراسات لتحديد القيمة العلاجية للبروتين السكري ودوره في المناعة.

على الرغم من أن الصغار يمكنهم الحصول على المكمل من إرضاع أمهاتهم ، إلا أن مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين المصنوع تجاريًا متاح لجميع الأعمار.

1. ما هو لاكتوفيرين؟

لاكتوفيرين (146897-68-9) هو بروتين سكري ملزم للحديد ينتمي إلى عائلة ترانسفيرين. هذا البروتين غني بالأجسام المضادة وهو موجود في كل من حليب الأبقار والحليب. إلى جانب ذلك ، هو مستخرج من معظم الإفرازات البيولوجية مثل الدموع واللعاب والسوائل الأنفية وعصير البنكرياس والصفراء. سيطلق الجسم بشكل طبيعي البروتينات السكرية استجابة للمنبه الالتهابي.

قبل أن تتمكن من عمل شراء اللاكتوفيرين، خذ ورقة من خلال هذا التعليق لمعرفة ما إذا كان الملحق يستحق ذلك.

توجد كميات غنية من اللاكتوفيرين في اللبأ ، وهو أول سائل لزج يتم إنتاجه بعد الولادة. يفرز في اللبن في أول يومين أو ثلاثة أيام بعد الولادة. على الرغم من أن إفراز اللبأ يقترب ، فإن كميات كبيرة من اللاكتوفيرين ستظل متوفرة في الحليب الانتقالي والناضج.

لذا ، كيف يمكنك استخراج اللاكتوفيرين من اللبأ البقري؟

اسمحوا لي أن آخذكم من خلال إجراء مباشر لعزل اللاكتوفيرين.

تتضمن الخطوة الأولى فصل مصل اللبن عن اللبن. مصل اللبن هو المنتج الثانوي السائل الذي يبقى بعد تخثر الحليب أو تخثره بمركب حمضي. تستفيد عملية العزل من كروماتوغرافيا التفاعل الكارهة للماء وكروماتوغرافيا التبادل الأيوني متبوعة بالخلع المتتابع مع المحاليل الملحية.

اللبأ البقري يأتي من الأبقار. وهي غنية بالبروتينات والأجسام المضادة والمعادن والفيتامينات والكربوهيدرات والدهون. أكدت هذه المعلمات القيمة العلاجية للبأذ ، وبالتالي جذب الاهتمام بين علماء الأبحاث في المجال الطبي.

بالنظر إلى أن محتوى اللاكتوفيرين ينخفض ​​مع زيادة وقت ما بعد الولادة ، يوصى بمصدر بديل للرضيع. خذ ، على سبيل المثال ، LF النموذجي مباشرة بعد الولادة حوالي 7-14mg / ml. ومع ذلك ، قد ينخفض ​​التركيز إلى ما يقرب من 1 مجم / مل مع الحليب الناضج.

إذا كنت ترغب في الاستمتاع باللاكتوفيرين المناعي ، يجب عليك الاعتماد على مكملات اللبأ البقري.

مسحوق السائبة اللاكتوفيرين التجاري هو نتاج اللبأ البقري. ومع ذلك ، كان المنتج مصدر قلق لبعض الأشخاص الذين يبدو أنهم متحمسون للإصابة بمرض جنون البقر. حسنًا ، دعني أؤكد لك أن هذه الحالة نادرة. إلى جانب ذلك ، بعض مكملات الطفل اللاكتوفيرين هي مقتطفات من الأرز المعدلة وراثيا ، لصالح الأشخاص الذين لا يتحملون اللاكتوز.

ما هي فوائد مكملات لاكتوفيرين للبالغين والأطفال

2. لماذا استخدام Lactoferrin Powder كمكملات غذائية ، فوائد Lactoferrin هي؟

إدارة حب الشباب

Cutibacterium و propionibacterium مسؤولان عن معظم حب الشباب. يعمل اللاكتوفيرين على حرمان هذه البكتيريا من الحديد وتقليل آثارها.

في بعض الحالات ، تساهم الجذور الحرة وأنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية في إصابة الخلايا وتلف الحمض النووي. بسبب الإجهاد التأكسدي ، قد يحدث الالتهاب ويؤثر على نمو حب الشباب. وفقًا لعلماء الأبحاث ، يعد اللاكتوفيرين مضادًا للأكسدة قويًا ، وبالتالي ، إمكانية مكافحة الجذور الحرة.

إن تناول اللاكتوفيرين مع فيتامين E والزنك سيقلل من آفات حب الشباب والكوميدونات في أقل من ثلاثة أشهر.

إلى جانب ذلك ، يؤدي الالتهاب مباشرة إلى تكوين حب الشباب والخراجات عن طريق انسداد المسام. الخصائص المضادة للالتهابات لللاكتوفيرين تضمن الشفاء السريع للآفات.

يؤكد أطباء الجلد على حقيقة أن صحة أمعائك هي انعكاس لبشرتك. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كان الجهاز الهضمي متسربًا أو غير صحي ، فإن استخدام جميع أنواع كريمات الوجه أو البروبيوتيك ذات المستوى العالمي لن يحل التهاب الجلد أو الرياضة أو الإكزيما. سيؤدي تناول اللاكتوفيرين إلى طرد الكائنات الدقيقة الضارة في الجهاز الهضمي مع تعزيز نشاط نباتات البيفيدوس المفيدة.

وبصرف النظر عن علاج حب الشباب ، فإن اللاكتوفيرين يخفف من أعراض الصدفية ويسرع الشفاء من قرحة القدم العصبية ، التي تنتشر بين مرضى السكري.

عامل مضاد للميكروبات

تؤكد دراسات لا حصر لها أن لاكتوفيرين (LN) يمنع الفيروسات والبكتيريا والطفيليات والالتهابات الفطرية من مهاجمة الجسم. يعمل المركب عن طريق الارتباط بهذه الميكروبات ، وزعزعة استقرار خليتها ، وحجب المستقبلات الخلوية.

في دراسة معينة ، لاحظ العلماء ذلك لاكتوترانسفيرين (LTF) كان أكثر فعالية في منع فيروس الهربس من النسخة البشرية. تشير الدراسات في المختبر أيضًا إلى أن هذا المكمل يدير بشكل فعال آثار فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية.

في جرعات أعلى قليلاً ، يعمل اللاكتوفيرين لإدارة ضراوة التهاب الكبد C. أبحاث الكبد، هذا العلاج يزيد من تعبير انترلوكين -18 ، وهو بروتين مسؤول عن عودة فيروس التهاب الكبد الوبائي. لتحقيق أقصى قدر من الكفاءة ، يجب أن يأخذ المرضى حوالي 1.8 إلى 3.6 جرام من المكمل في اليوم. والسبب هو أن الجرعات المنخفضة من اللاكتوفيرين لن تحدث فرقًا في المحتوى الفيروسي.

هناك تكهنات ، والتي تعتبر LF كعلاج للعدوى البوابية الحلزونية. عندما تكدس المكمل مع علاجات القرحة النموذجية ، من المحتمل أن تكون الأدوية أكثر فعالية. كان هذا الادعاء تنافسًا عظميًا بين الباحثين حيث يعتقد الغالبية أن استخدامات مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين ستكون غير صالحة في غياب الجرعات الطبية.

تنظيم التمثيل الغذائي للحديد

لا ينظم اللاكتوفيرين تركيز الحديد في الجسم فحسب ، بل يزيد أيضًا من امتصاصه.

كانت هناك دراسة سريرية مستمرة سعت لمقارنة فعالية LF ضد الكبريتات الحديدية في فقر الدم بسبب نقص الحديد أثناء الحمل. حسنًا ، من التجربة ، أثبت اللاكتوفيرين أنه أكثر فعالية في تحفيز تكوين الهيموجلوبين وخلايا الدم الحمراء.

النساء اللواتي يستهلكن البروتينات السكرية لديهن مستويات حديد مثلى بدون آثار جانبية. يعمل اللاكتوفيرين لتقليل احتمالية حدوث الإجهاض والولادة قبل الأوان وانخفاض الوزن عند الولادة.

لذلك ، من الواضح أنه مكمل مثالي للأمهات الحوامل والنساء في سن الإنجاب الذين يفقدون بعض الحديد عند الحيض. قد يستفيد النباتيون والمتبرعون بالدم المتكرر من مكملات اللاكتوفيرين.

الجهاز الهضمي الصحي

مكمل الطفل اللاكتوفيرين يزيل السموم ويحافظ على صحة الأمعاء. يتخلص من البكتيريا الضارة المسؤولة عن الالتهاب. على سبيل المثال ، تمثل هذه الميكروبات غالبية حالات التهاب المعدة والأمعاء والتهاب الأمعاء والقولون ، والتي تتلف جدران الأمعاء مما يؤدي إلى الوفاة المبكرة. إذا كان طفلك لا يرضع لسبب ما ، فمن المستحسن أن تتحول إلى لاكتو ترانسفيرين البقري (LTF).

ما هي فوائد مكملات لاكتوفيرين للبالغين والأطفال

3. فوائد اللاكتوفيرين على الطفل

مكمل الطفل اللاكتوفيرين يعيق نمو الكائنات الحية الدقيقة في أمعاء الأطفال حديثي الولادة. وتشمل هذه الميكروبات Escherichia coli و Bacillus stearothermophilus و Staphylococcus Albus و Candida albicans و Pseudomonas aeruginosa. تدعم العديد من الدراسات حقيقة أن تناول المكملات الغذائية اليومية بكميات كبيرة من اللاكتوفيرين يقلل من فرص التهاب المعدة والأمعاء في الأطفال.

لا يزال في القناة الهضمية ، يعزز LF انتشار الخلايا البطانية بينما يعبر عن نمو الجريبات اللمفاوية. لذلك ، يصبح من الواضح أن مكملات اللاكتوفيرين قد تكون وصفة طبية للمخاط المعوية التالفة.

الرضاعة الطبيعية هي المصدر الرئيسي للحديد للولدان. ومع ذلك ، يوصي أطباء الأطفال بأن المكملات الإضافية للحديد ضرورية لأن حليب الثدي يحتوي على كميات قليلة من هذا المعدن.

اسمحوا لي أن أشرح لماذا LF هو مكمل مثالي للخدج والرضع المولودين بانخفاض وزن الولادة. عادة ، تكون هذه المجموعة شديدة التأثر بفقر الدم بعوز الحديد. إدارة مكمل الطفل اللاكتوفيرين سيزيد الهيموجلوبين وخلايا الدم الحمراء في نظام الطفل الصغير. علاوة على ذلك ، تكشف الدراسات أن مكملات الحديد تعزز التطور العصبي للرضيع.

في بعض الأحيان ، تتغذى البكتيريا الضارة مثل E.coli على الحديد الموجود في الأمعاء عند حديثي الولادة. إن أخذ اللاكتوفيرين سيحرم ميكروبات الحديد ويدمرها مع ضمان تلقي المضيف لجميع المعادن المتاحة.

يلعب LF دورًا مهمًا في تطوير جهاز المناعة لدى الطفل. تشمل بعض استخدامات مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين هذه زيادة نشاط البلاعم ، الجلوبيولين المناعي ، خلايا NK ، والخلايا اللمفاوية التائية ، المسؤولة عن مناعة حديثي الولادة. ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، أن إدارة LF يقلل من القابلية للحساسية.

4. كيف يحسن اللاكتوفيرين جهاز المناعة؟

يتوسط بين وظائف المناعة التكيفية والفطرية

بالنسبة للاستجابة المناعية الفطرية ، يعمل اللاكتوفيرين بعدة طرق. على سبيل المثال ، يعزز أنشطة الخلايا القاتلة الطبيعية (NK) والعدلات. يعزز البروتين البلعمة ويسبب زيادة في البلاعم.

للاستجابة التكيفية ، يساعد LF في تعديل الخلايا التائية والخلايا B. في حالة الإشارات الالتهابية ، سيتم دمج كل من وظائف المناعة الفطرية والتكيفية لمواجهة الحدوث.

ينظم Lactoferrin إنتاج السيتوكينات المؤيدة للالتهابات والإنترلوكين 12 ، والتي تظهر خصائص دفاعية ضد مسببات الأمراض داخل الخلايا.

يتوسط في متلازمة الاستجابة الالتهابية الجهازية (SIRS)

دور مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين في قمع أنواع الأكسجين التفاعلية (ROS) كان أساسيًا في دراسة علاقته بالالتهاب وتطور السرطان. زيادة في ROS يترجم إلى مخاطر أعلى من الأمراض الالتهابية بسبب موت الخلايا المبرمج أو الإصابة الخلوية.

مناعة ضد الكائنات الحية الدقيقة

الخصائص المضادة للميكروبات لللاكتوفيرين تخترق الالتهابات البكتيرية والفيروسية والطفيليات والفطريات.

تزدهر الميكروبات وتعتمد على الحديد للنمو والبقاء. عندما يغزون المضيف ، LF يحبط إمكانات استخدام الحديد.

خلال المرحلة الأولية من العدوى ، يتدخل اللاكتوفيرين (LF) لمواجهة المحفزات الأجنبية بطريقتين محددتين. سيقوم البروتين إما بسد المستقبلات الخلوية أو الارتباط بالفيروس ، وبالتالي منع دخوله إلى المضيف. تتضمن الإجراءات الأخرى المضادة للميكروبات لللاكتوفيرين زعزعة استقرار طريقة الخلية للممرض أو حجب التمثيل الغذائي للكربوهيدرات.

تؤكد العديد من الدراسات استخدامات مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين في إدارة فيروس الهربس ، وعدوى فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية ، والتهاب الكبد الوبائي C و B ، والإنفلونزا ، وفيروس هانتا. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، منع الملحق تكاثر فيروس ألفا ، فيروس الروتا ، فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري ، والعديد من الآخرين.

في بعض الحالات ، قد لا يطرد اللاكتوفيرين جميع أنواع العدوى ولكن يمكنك التأكد من أنها ستقلل من شدة الحمل الفيروسي الحالي. في دراسات سابقة ، كان LF فعالاً في كبح فيروس السارس الكاذب. نظرًا لأن SARS-CoV-2 يقع في نفس الفئة مثل SARS-CoV ، فهناك احتمال أن يقلل اللاكتوفيرين من ضراوة COVID-19.

على الرغم من أن الأطباء يعتقدون أن تعزيز وظائف المناعة الخاصة بك لا يحمي واحدًا من الفيروسات التاجية ، فإن مكملات اللاكتوفيرين ستساعد في القتال. بعد كل شيء ، لاحظ نفس الممارسين أن كبار السن والأشخاص ذوي المناعة المنخفضة معرضون بشكل كبير لخطر الإصابة بـ COVID-19.

5. يستخدم مسحوق Lactoferrin والتطبيق

يتوفر مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين السائب لعلماء البحث والباحثين الذين يرغبون في تحديد قيمته الطبية على جسم الإنسان. لديها آفاق تطبيق واسعة في الوقاية من الأمراض والمكملات الغذائية والمطهرات الغذائية والصيدلانية ومستحضرات التجميل.

لتحليلاتك وتجاربك المعملية ، تأكد من مصدر المركب من موردي مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين الصالحين.

مسحوق اللاكتوفيرين استخدام في حليب الاطفال المجفف

تتحسن تركيبة مسحوق الرضع باستمرار نحو عكس الكيمياء الحيوية لحليب الأم الحقيقي من الأم. اللاكتوفيرين هو ثاني أكثر البروتينات وفرة في حليب الأم. وهي مشهورة لجلب جميع أنواع الفوائد للطفل بما في ذلك الحديد الملزم للحصانة والوقاية من السرطان وتعزيز العظام الصحية من بين أشياء أخرى.

Lactoferrin هو جزء وفير في حليب الأم المبكر الذي يعرف باسم اللبأ. يحتوي اللبأ على حوالي ضعفي كل ملليلتر من لبن الثدي الناضج. وهذا يعني أن الأطفال الصغار يحتاجون إلى تركيزات أعلى من اللاكتوفيرين من أجل التطور الأمثل.

يتم تحسين التحسن في جهاز المناعة لدى الرضيع بواسطة مكون لاكتوفيرين في تكوين الرضيع. يلعب البروتين وظيفة حاسمة في جهاز المناعة لدى الرضيع ويمثل أول نظام دفاعي مضاد للفيروسات ومضاد للميكروبات. ينتج التأثير الرئيسي المضاد للميكروبات في الغالب عن استخلاب أيونات الحديد ، وهو أمر حاسم لنمو البكتيريا. إلى جانب ذلك ، يُعتقد أيضًا أن اللاكتوفيرين يعمل كمضاد للأكسدة يمكن أن يقوي الاستجابة المناعية من خلال تمكين التمايز وانتشار وتنشيط الخلايا المناعية.

ما هي فوائد مكملات لاكتوفيرين للبالغين والأطفال

6. الآثار الجانبية لاكتوفيرين

سلامة محاور LF على عدد قليل من العوامل.

يمكن أن تكون الجرعات السائبة من اللاكتوفيرين صدفة. على سبيل المثال ، عندما يكون المكمل مشتقًا من حليب البقر ، يمكنك تناوله بثقة بكميات كبيرة لمدة عام. ومع ذلك ، عندما ينشأ المنتج من الأرز ، فمن المحتمل أن تؤدي الجرعات الزائدة على التوالي لمدة أسبوعين إلى إثارة بعض النتائج السلبية.

تشمل الآثار الجانبية النموذجية لاكتوترانسفيرين (LTF) ؛

  • الإسهال
  • فقدان الشهية
  • الطفح الجلدي
  • الإمساك
  • قشعريرة برد

على عكس معظم المكملات الطبية ، يعد اللاكتوفيرين آمنًا للأمهات الحوامل والمرضعات.

لتجاوز الآثار الجانبية لاكتوفيرين ، يوصى بجرعة تتراوح بين 200 ملغ و 400 ملغ. يجب أن تأخذها لمدة شهرين إلى ثلاثة أشهر متتالية. في حالات نادرة ، قد تصل الفترة إلى ستة أشهر.

7. من يمكنه الاستفادة من لاكتوفيرين؟

حمل ورضاعة

يفيد اللاكتوفيرين كلاً من الأم والرضيع.

خلال فترة الحمل ، سيكون لإدارة هذا المكمل تأثير إيجابي على حجم الجنين ووزنه عند الولادة. إذا استمرت الأم في تناول جرعة اللاكتوفيرين خلال فترة الرضاعة ، فسوف يتحسن إنتاج حليب الثدي بشكل ملحوظ. إلى جانب ذلك ، سوف يمجد الطفل بشكل غير مباشر في اللبأ للحفاظ على وزن صحي للجسم.

الرضع والأطفال الصغار الذين لم يرضعوا أو اختلطوا

يضمن مكمل اللاكتوفيرين أن يطور الرضيع نظام مناعة قويًا مع حماية الجهاز الهضمي الدقيق من مسببات الحساسية. إلى جانب ذلك ، يعمل المكمل كملين ، يساعد في حركة الأمعاء الأولى للطفل. تتوافر تركيبات الرضع الغنية بالبكتيريا من موردي مسحوق Lactoferrin المحلي وعبر الإنترنت.

فقر الدم بعوز الحديد

يزيد مكمل اللاكتوفيرين بشكل كبير من مستويات الهيموجلوبين وخلايا الدم الحمراء والفيريتين. على الرغم من أن معظم الناس يستخدمون كبريتات الحديد لمواجهة نقص الحديد ، إلا أن العديد من الدراسات البحثية تؤكد أن اللاكتوفيرين أكثر فاعلية.

إذا كنت نباتيًا أو متبرعًا متكررًا بالدم ، فستحتاج إلى الأطعمة الغنية بالحديد لتعويض انخفاض مستويات الهيموجلوبين والفيريتين. خلاف ذلك ، يمكنك إجراء شراء لاكتوفيرين جيد من البائعين عبر الإنترنت.

الأشخاص ذوي المناعة المنخفضة

يدافع اللاكتوفيرين عن الجسم ضد مسببات الأمراض عن طريق التخلص من الميكروبات المعدية ومنع انتشار البكتيريا والفيروسات. يشارك المركب بنشاط في تعديل مسارات الإشارات المسؤولة عن مراقبة الاستجابات المناعية للمضيف.

يعمل اللاكتوفيرين كوسيط ، يسد وينسق التفاعلات بين وظائف المناعة التكيفية والفطرية. على سبيل المثال ، يحسن الأنشطة البلعمة عن طريق تنظيم العدلات والبلاعم. بالنسبة لنظام المناعة التكيفي ، يسرع هذا المركب نضج الخلايا التائية والخلايا البائية ، التي تعبر عن المناعة الخلطية والخلطية ، على التوالي.

8. لاكتوفيرين مع IgG

تماما مثل اللاكتوفيرين ، مفتش أو المناعي G هو بروتين وقائي مضاد للميكروبات موجود في حليب الثدييات.

تتوفر العديد من الدراسات لشرح العلاقة بين اللاكتوفيرين و IgG.

تركيز اللاكتوفيرين في اللبأ أعلى بكثير من تركيز IgG. وفقًا لعلماء الأبحاث ، تؤثر عوامل عديدة على كميات هذه البروتينات في الحليب.

على سبيل المثال ، يكون كل من اللاكتوفيرين و IgG حساسين للحرارة والبسترة. قد يتحمل الجلوبيولين المناعي المعالجة الحرارية حتى 100 درجة مئوية ولكن بالكاد لبضع ثوان. على عكس ذلك ، ينخفض ​​اللاكتوفيرين ببطء مع زيادة درجة الحرارة حتى يتحلل تمامًا عند 100 درجة مئوية.

بناءً على هذه النقاط ، يجب أن تكون قد لاحظت أن الوقت ودرجة حرارة التدفئة من الاعتبارات الأساسية عند معالجة حليب الأطفال حديثي الولادة. نظرًا لأن بسترة الحليب كانت محل جدل ، فقد قرر معظم الناس التجميد الجاف.

تركيز اللاكتوفيرين (146897-68-9) في ذروتها بعد الولادة. مع زيادة فترة ما بعد الولادة ، ينخفض ​​هذا البروتين تدريجيًا ، ربما بسبب انخفاض اللبأ. من ناحية أخرى ، فإن انخفاض مستويات الغلوبولين المناعي G يكاد لا يذكر خلال فترة الرضاعة.

على الرغم من انخفاض الكثير من اللاكتوفيرين في حليب الثدييات ، إلا أن تركيزه سيظل أعلى من تركيز IgG. هذه الحقيقة لا تزال قائمة سواء في اللبأ أو الانتقالي أو في الحليب الناضج.

المراجع

  • Yamauchi، K.، et al. (2006). Bovine Lactoferrin: فوائد وآلية العمل ضد العدوى. الكيمياء الحيوية وبيولوجيا الخلية.
  • جيفري ، كا ، وآخرون. (2009). Lactoferrin كمشغل مناعي طبيعي. التصميم الدوائية الحالية.
  • Lepanto، MS، et al. (2018). فعالية الإدارة عن طريق الفم لاكتوفيرين في علاج فقر الدم وفقر الدم الالتهاب في النساء الحوامل وغير الحوامل: دراسة تداخلية. الحدود في علم المناعة.
  • Goldsmith ، SJ ، وآخرون. (1982). محتويات IgA و IgG و IgM و Lactoferrin من حليب الإنسان أثناء الرضاعة المبكرة وتأثير المعالجة والتخزين. مجلة حماية الأغذية
  • سميث ، كوالالمبور ، كونراد ، HR ، وبورتير ، RM (1971). Lactoferrin و IgG Immunoglobulins من الغدد الثديية البقري غير المطابقة. مجلة علوم الألبان.
  • سانشيز ، ل ، كالفو ، م ، وبروك ، جيه إتش (1992). الدور البيولوجي لللاكتوفيرين. أرشيف الأمراض في الطفولة.
  • نياز ، ب. ، وآخرون. (2019). لاكتوفيرين (LF): بروتين طبيعي مضاد للميكروبات. المجلة الدولية لخصائص الأغذية.

Lactoferrin Overview

Lactoferrin (LF) is a natural protein present in mammalian milk and exhibiting anti-microbial properties. Since its inception in the 60s, there have been numerous studies to establish the therapeutic value of the glycoprotein and its role in immunity.

Although younglings can obtain the supplement from suckling their mothers, commercially-made lactoferrin powder is available for all ages.

1. What is Lactoferrin?

Lactoferrin (146897-68-9) is an iron-binding glycoprotein belonging to the transferrin family. This protein is rich in antibodies and it is present in both human and cow milk. Besides, it is an extract of most biological secretions such as tears, saliva, nasal fluids, pancreatic juice, and bile. The body will naturally release the glycoprotein in response to an inflammatory stimulus.

Before you can make a lactoferrin buy, take a leaf through this commentary to see if the supplement is worth it.

Rich amounts of lactoferrin are present in colostrum, which is the first sticky fluid produced after giving birth. It is secreted in milk within the first two or three days of postpartum. Even though the secretion of colostrum comes to a close, significant amounts of lactoferrin will still be available in transitional and mature milk.

So, how do you extract lactoferrin from bovine colostrum?

Allow me to take you through a straightforward procedure of isolating lactoferrin.

The first step involves separating whey from the milk. Whey is the liquid byproduct that remains after curdling or coagulating milk with an acidic compound. The isolation process makes use of hydrophobic interaction chromatography and ion-exchange chromatography followed by successive elusion with saline solutions.

Bovine colostrum comes from cows. It is rich in proteins, antibodies, minerals, vitamins, carbohydrates, and fats. These parameters have confirmed the therapeutic value of colostrum, hence, drawing interest among research scientists in the medical domain.

Given that the content of lactoferrin decreases as the postpartum time increases, a substitute source is recommended to the infant. Take, for example, the typical LF immediately after birth is about 7-14mg/ml. however, the concentration may drop to almost 1mg/ml with mature milk.

If you want to revel in the immunological lactoferrin, you should bank on bovine colostrum supplementation.

Commercially-made lactoferrin bulk powder is a product of bovine colostrum. However, the product has been a concern to some people who seem to be vexed with being infected with the mad cow disease. Well, let me assure you that this condition is rare. Besides, some lactoferrin baby supplements are extracts of genetically engineered rice, in favor of people who are intolerant to lactose.

 

What Are The Lactoferrin Supplements Benefits For Adults And Babies

 

2. Why use Lactoferrin Powder as the Supplements, the Lactoferrin Benefits are?

Managing Acne

Cutibacterium and propionibacterium are responsible for most acne. Lactoferrin functions to deprives these bacteria of iron and reduces their effects.

In some situations, free radicals and reactive oxygen species contribute to the injury of the cells and DNA damage. Due to oxidative stress, inflammation may occur and impact on the growth of acne. According to research scientists, lactoferrin is a potent anti-oxidant, hence, the potentiality of combating the free radicals.

Taking lactoferrin alongside vitamin E and zinc will reduce acne lesions and comedones in as little as three months.

Besides, inflammation directly triggers the formation of acne and cysts by clogging the pores. The anti-inflammatory properties of lactoferrin guarantee rapid healing of the lesions.

Dermatologists emphasize on the fact that your gut health is a reflection of your skin. For instance, if your gastrointestinal tract is leaky or unhealthy, using all kinds of facial creams or world-class probiotics will not solve the skin inflammation, sports, or eczema. Taking lactoferrin will flush out the harmful microorganisms in the digestion tract while promoting the activity of the useful Bifidus flora.

Apart from treating acne, lactoferrin relieved the symptoms of psoriasis and accelerated the recovery from neuropathic foot ulcers, which is prevalent among patients with diabetes.

Anti-Microbial Agent

Countless studies confirm that Lactoferrin (LN) prevents viruses, bacteria, parasites, and fungal infections from attacking the body. the compound works by binding to these microbes, destabilizing their cell structure, and blocking the cellular receptors.

In a particular study, the scientists noted that lactotransferrin (LTF) was more efficient in preventing herpes virus than the human version. In vitro studies also indicate that this supplement effectively manages the effects of HIV.

In slightly higher doses, lactoferrin functions to manage the virulence of Hepatitis C. According to Hepatology Research, this treatment increases the expression of interleukin-18, a protein responsible for driving back the Hepatitis C virus. For maximum efficiency, patients ought to take about 1.8 to 3.6 grams of the supplement per day. The reason is that low doses of lactoferrin will make no difference in the viral content.

There are speculations, which consider LF as a treatment for helicobacter pylori infections. When you stack the supplement with your typical ulcer treatments, the chances are that the drugs will be more effective. This claim has been a bone contention amongst researchers as the majority hold that lactoferrin powder uses will be invalid in the absence of prescription doses.

Regulation of Iron Metabolism

Lactoferrin will not only regulate the concentration of iron in the body but also increase its absorption.

There has been an ongoing clinical study that sought to compare the efficacy of LF against ferrous sulfate in iron deficiency anemia during pregnancy. Well, from the trial, lactoferrin proved to be more potent in stimulating the formation of hemoglobin and the red blood cells.

Women consuming the glycoprotein have optimum iron levels with zero side effects. Lactoferrin functions to reduce the possibility of miscarriages, preterm birth, and low birthweight.

Therefore, it is evident that it is an ideal supplement for pregnant moms and women of child-bearing age who lose some irons when in their menses. Vegetarians and frequent blood donors may as well benefit from lactoferrin supplements.

Healthy Gastrointestinal Tract

Lactoferrin baby supplement detoxifies and keeps the gut healthy. It gets rid of the harmful bacteria, which are responsible for inflammation. For example, these microbes account for the majority of gastroenteritis cases and enterocolitis, which damage the intestinal walls leading to premature death. If for some reason, your baby is not suckling, it’s highly recommended that you shift to bovine lactotransferrin (LTF).

 

What Are The Lactoferrin Supplements Benefits For Adults And Babies

 

3. Lactoferrin Benefits on the Baby

Lactoferrin baby supplement impedes the growth of microorganisms in the gut of newborn babies. These microbes include Escherichia coli, Bacillus stearothermophilus, Staphylococcus Albus, Candida albicans, and Pseudomonas aeruginosa. Several studies back up the fact that a daily intake of lactoferrin bulk supplement reduces the chances of noroviral gastroenteritis in babes.

Still in the gut, LF promotes the proliferation of the endothelial cells while expressing the growth of lymphatic follicles. Therefore, it becomes evident that lactoferrin supplementation may be a prescription for damaged intestinal mucus.

Breastfeeding is the principal source of iron for neonates. However, pediatricians recommend that additional supplementation of iron is necessary since breast milk contains little amounts of this mineral.

Allow me to explain why LF is an ideal supplement to preterm babies and infants born with low birthweight. Usually, this group is highly susceptible to iron-deficiency anemia. Administering the lactoferrin baby supplement will increase hemoglobin and red blood cells in the toddler’s system. Moreover, studies reveal that iron supplementation boosts the neurological development of the infant.

At times, harmful bacteria like E.coli feed on the iron present on the neonatal intestinal tract. Taking lactoferrin will deprive the microbes of iron and destroy them while ensuring that the host receives all the available minerals.

LF plays a significant role in the development of the baby’s immune system. Some of these lactoferrin powder uses include the increase of the activity of macrophages, immunoglobulins, NK cells, and the T lymphocytes, which are responsible for neonatal immunity. What’s more, administering LF reduces the susceptibility to allergens.

 

4. How Lactoferrin Improves Immune System?

Mediates between Adaptive and Innate Immune Functions

For the innate immune response, lactoferrin acts in several ways. For instance, it enhances the activities of the natural killer cells (NK) and neutrophils. The protein boosts phagocytosis and causes an increase in macrophages.

For the adaptive response, LF aids in the modulation of the T-cells and B-cells. In the case of inflammatory signaling, both innate and adaptive immune functions will merge to counter the occurrence.

Lactoferrin regulates the production of pro-inflammatory cytokines and interleukin 12, which exhibit defensive properties against intracellular pathogens.

Mediates in the Systemic Inflammatory Response Syndrome (SIRS)

The role of lactoferrin powder in suppressing the reactive oxygen species (ROS) has been fundamental in studying its relation to inflammation and cancer development. An increase in ROS translates to higher risks of inflammatory conditions due to apoptosis or cellular injury.

Immunity Against Microorganisms

The anti-microbial properties of lactoferrin cuts across bacterial, viral, parasite, and fungal infections.

Microbes thrive and depend on iron for growth and survival. When they invade the host, LF thwarts their iron utilization potential.

During the initial phase of infection, lactoferrin (LF) steps in to counter the foreign stimuli in two definite ways. The protein will either block the cellular receptors or bind to the virus, hence, preventing its entry into the host. Other anti-microbial actions of lactoferrin include destabilizing the cell way of the pathogen or blocking their carbohydrate metabolism.

Several studies corroborate lactoferrin powder uses in the management of Herpes virus, HIV infection, Human hepatitis C and B, influenza, and hantavirus. Besides, the supplement inhibited the proliferation of the alphavirus, rotavirus, human papillomavirus, and several others.

In some cases, Lactoferrin may not flush out all the infections but you can be sure that it will reduce the severity of the existing viral load. In previous studies, LF had been effective at curbing the SARS pseudovirus. Since SARS-CoV-2 falls in the same class as SARS-CoV, there’s a possibility that lactoferrin may decrease the virulence of COVID-19.

Although medics hold that boosting your immune functions does not protect one from coronavirus, lactoferrin supplementation will aid in the fight. After all, the same practitioners have observed that the aged and people with low immunity are at a high risk of contracting COVID-19.

 

5. Lactoferrin Powder Uses and Application

 Lactoferrin bulk powder is available for research scientists and scholars who want to establish its medicinal value on the human body. It has broad application prospects in disease prevention, nutritional supplements, food and pharmaceutical antiseptics, and cosmetics.

For your analysis and lab experiments, ensure to source the compound from valid lactoferrin powder suppliers.

Lactoferrin powder use in baby milk powder

Infant powder formula improves continuously towards reflecting the biochemistry of the real breast milk from the mother.  Lactoferrin is the number two most abundant protein in the mother’s breast milk. It is popular for bringing all types of benefits  to the baby including is binding iron for immunity,  prevention of cancer,  and promoting healthy bones among others.

Lactoferrin is partculay abundant in the mother’s early milk which is known as colostrum. Colostrum contains around twice as much per mililiter as mature breast milk. This is to imply that the youngest infants require higher concentrations of lactoferrin for optimum  development.

Improvement in an infant’s immune system is supported by Lactoferrin component in the infant’s formular. The protein plays a crucial function in the infant’s immune system and represents a first anti-viral and anti-microbial defense system. The key anti-microbial effect is mostly brought about   iron-ions chelation, which are crucial for the growth of bacterial. Besides, lactoferrin is also believed to act as an antioxidant which can strengthen the immune response by enabling the differentiation, proliferation, and activation of immune cells.

 

What Are The Lactoferrin Supplements Benefits For Adults And Babies

 

6. Lactoferrin Side Effects

The safety of LF pivots on a few factors.

Lactoferrin bulk doses can be chancy. For instance, when the supplement is a derivative of a cow’s milk, you can confidently consume it in high amounts for a year. However, when the product originates from rice, the chances are that consecutively overdosing for two weeks will spark off some negative upshots.

Typical lactotransferrin (LTF) side effects include;

  • Diarrhea
  • Loss of appetite
  • Skin rashes
  • Constipation
  • Chills

Unlike most medicinal supplements, lactoferrin is safe for expectant and breastfeeding moms.

To bypass lactoferrin side effects, a dosage ranging between 200mg and 400mg is recommended. You should take it for two to three consecutive months. In rare cases, the period may go up to six months.

 

7. Who can Benefit from Lactoferrin?

Maternal

Lactoferrin benefits both the mother and the infant.

During the gestation period, administering this supplement would have a positive impact on the size of the fetus and its birth weight. If the mother continues with the lactoferrin dosage during the lactation period, her breast milk production will significantly improve. Besides, the baby would indirectly glory in the colostrum to maintain healthy body weight.

Infants and Young Children who are not Breastfed or Mixed

The lactoferrin supplement ensures that an infant develops a powerful immune system while protecting the delicate gastrointestinal tract from allergens. Besides, the supplement acts as a laxative, aiding in the first bowel movement of the baby. Infant formulas rich in colostrum are available from local and online Lactoferrin powder suppliers.

Iron Deficiency Anemia

Lactoferrin supplement significantly increases the levels of hemoglobin, red blood cells, and ferritin. Although most people use ferrous sulfate to counter iron deficiency, numerous research studies are confirming that lactoferrin is more potent.

If you’re a vegetarian or a frequent blood donor, you’ll need iron-rich foods to make up for the low hemoglobin and ferritin levels. Otherwise, you can make a good lactoferrin buy from online vendors.

People with Low Immunity

Lactoferrin defends the body against pathogens by chucking out infectious microbes and inhibiting the proliferation of bacteria and viruses. The compound is actively involved in the modulation of signaling pathways responsible for monitoring the immune responses of a host.

Lactoferrin acts as a mediator, bridging and coordinating the interactions between adaptive and innate immune functions. For instance, it improves phagocytic activities by upregulation of the neutrophils and the macrophages. For the adaptive immune system, this compound speeds up the maturation of the T-cells and B-cells, which express cell-mediated and humoral immunity, respectively.

 

8. Lactoferrin with IgG

Just like lactoferrin, IgG or immunoglobulin G is a protective anti-microbial protein present in mammalian milk.

Several studies are available to explain the correlation between lactoferrin and IgG.

The concentration of lactoferrin in colostrum is significantly higher than that of IgG. According to research scientists, several factors affect the amounts of these proteins in milk.

For instance, both lactoferrin and IgG are sensitive to heat and pasteurization. Immunoglobulin G may withstand heat treatment of up to 100°C but barely for a couple of seconds. Contrary, lactoferrin slowly decreases with an increase in temperature until it completely degrades at 100°C.

Basing on these points, you must have noted that time and heating temperature are prime considerations when processing neonatal milk. Since milk pasteurization has been subject to controversy, most people resolve to dry-freezing.

The concentration of Lactoferrin (146897-68-9) is at its peak after giving birth. As the postpartum time increases, this protein gradually decreases, probably due to a reduction in colostrum. On the other hand, the fall in the levels of immunoglobulin G almost negligible throughout the lactation period.

However much lactoferrin drops off in the mammalian milk, its concentration will still be higher than that of IgG. This fact still stands whether in colostrum, transitional, or in mature milk.

 

References

  • Yamauchi, K., et al. (2006). Bovine Lactoferrin: Benefits and Mechanism of Action Against Infections. Biochemistry and Cell Biology.
  • Jeffrey, K.A., et al. (2009). Lactoferrin as a Natural Immune Modulator. Current Pharmaceutical Design.
  • Lepanto, M.S., et al. (2018). Efficacy of Lactoferrin Oral Administration in the Treatment of Anemia and Anemia of Inflammation in Pregnant and Non-Pregnant Women: An Interventional Study. Frontiers in Immunology.
  • Goldsmith, S.J., et al. (1982). IgA, IgG, IgM and Lactoferrin Contents of Human Milk During Early Lactation and the Effect of Processing and Storage. Journal of Food Protection
  • Smith, K.L., Conrad, H.R., and Porter, R.M. (1971). Lactoferrin and IgG Immunoglobulins from Involuted Bovine Mammary Glands. Journal of Dairy Science.
  • Sanchez, L., Calvo, M., and Brock, J.H. (1992). Biological Role of Lactoferrin. Archives of Disease in Childhood.
  • Niaz, B., et al. (2019). Lactoferrin (LF): A Natural Anti-Microbial Protein. International Journal of Food Properties.